Wednesday, September 29, 2010

a typical day

This blog is a total hodge podge of sorts, part funny, part serious.  I mostly started it cause I needed somewhere to capture my life.  A place to capture the day to day funnies and stresses.  To remember them and reminisce on them.  And a journal just wasn't working for me. 

Plus, I realized I totally liked the attention.  I liked people reading my words.  And commenting on them.

So forgive this post of what a typical day is for me.  Right now.  Today.  I need it for future remembrance.

Early - Run.  I want this half marathon to be OVER.
8ish - Ellie wakes up, comes into our bedroom naked, and asks to put on her ballet outfit.
8ish-8:30ish - Breakfast of oatmeal, meat, fruit, and blessed coffee for mama.
8:30-12:10 - Tidy, laundry, watch E change clothes 13 times, argue about what she needs to wear, clean up messes, play barbies, my little ponies, babies, have lunch.
12:10-3:00 - Ellie school.  I have lunch, run errands, clean, read, visit, do whatever needs done.
3:00-5:00 - "Rest", have a snack, fold laundry from the morning, think about dinner.
5:00-6:30 - Prepare and eat a healthy and delicious dinner while sitting around the dinner table discussing our day nicely. Just like in Leave it to Beaver.  Not.  More like sit there saying, "four more bites and you can be excused."  "Sit down!" "Drink your milk!"  "But mom!  This is yucky!"  God Bless America.
6:30-8:00 - Play with Daddy, take a walk, potty, brush teeth, read stories, bed.
8:00-11:00 - Go up and settle her 2 or 3 times, relax, watch tv, cuddle, read, drink tea, etc...

There.  That is the very bare bones of what goes on, but I think that is enough for me to remember. 

I watch some the preschool moms dropping off their kids, how busy they are, how frazzled they are, and realize, I have it good.  Real good.  Ellie is, for all her 4 year old faults, a fantastic kid.  I have a perfect balance of time for her, and time for myself, and time for Chris and I. 

Next year, this will all change and I am sad about that.  Ellie will be in school all day and I have going to have to find something to do.  Outside the house.  Like a job.  Ew! 

Anyone need a coffee tester from 9-2?
Or maybe a hiking guide from 9-2?
Or someone to pet horses from 9-2?
Or a personal shopper from 9-2?

These are jobs I would be interested in.


C. Beth said...

Um...good luck finding one of those jobs. ;-)

This is great--such a good thing to be able to look back when you wonder, "What was it really like when she was 4?"

Molly said...

Oh my gosh! I just decided THIS MORNING that I needed a horse petter....but it would be from 9-4, so sorry. ;)